Winslow, Belanger elected selectmen in Harrison

By Gail Geraghty

Staff Writer

HARRISON — Archille “Archie” Belanger came in second in the four-way race for Harrison Selectman, winning a seat on the board along with top vote-getter Bill Winslow, the current chairman.

Belanger’s 158-vote count was only 11 votes fewer than the 169 received by Winslow, who has led the board with a voice of moderation for six straight years. Missing out on their bid to serve was Amelda Arris, with 129 votes, and Richard Maynard, a relative newcomer to town, who received 114 votes.

Both Belanger and Arris are political newcomers to Harrison, who have said they believe more transparency is needed in explaining town policies and decisions to the public.

Other local Harrison races were uncontested and won by incumbents. James Dayton won another term on the Planning Board with 230 votes; Robert McBride was reelected with 249 votes to the Appeals Board, and Albert Lisowski earned 239 votes for his seat on the SAD 17 Board of Directors.

The SAD 17 school budget was also passed by a vote of 184–118.

Please follow and like us: