Lake Region athletes dished out their Just Desserts

Outstanding Female & Male Athletes — Tiana-Jo Carter and Cody Gibbons.

Outstanding Female & Male Athletes — Tiana-Jo Carter and Cody Gibbons.

Lake Region High School athletes enjoyed desserts and received well-deserved honors last Thursday night at the annual LR Athletic Boosters’ Athletic Awards.

Coaches handed out Varsity Club awards, while all-conference and all-academic selections were recognized.

Special recognition was made to senior Tiana-Jo Carter for her achievements on the basketball court and leading the Lakers to their first state title in 39 years, and junior Kate Hall, who recently won four state track and field titles while setting three new records. She is also currently ranked nationally.

Varsity Club Awards

Cross-Country: Ben Roy

Cross-Country: Audrey Blais

Field Hockey: Lucy Fowler

Football: Cody Gibbons

Golf: Evan Kellough

Soccer: Michael Rust

Sportsmanship Award — Dakota Russo.

Sportsmanship Award — Dakota Russo.

Soccer: Elisabeth Waugh

Volleyball: Amina Meziani

Alpine Skiing: Jeremy Black

Alpine Skiing: Samantha Marucci

Basketball: Sam Smith

Basketball: Tiana-Jo Carter

Fall Cheering: Jackie Laurent

Winter Cheering: Frances Kimball

Ice Hockey: Dakota Russo

Indoor Track: Nick Scarlett

Indoor Track: Kate Hall

Softball: Casey Heath

Baseball: Ben Chaine

Sportsmanship & Principal's Awards — Casey Heath.

Sportsmanship & Principal's Awards — Casey Heath.

Lacrosse: Drew Shane

Lacrosse: Elizabeth Schreiber

Tennis: Frances Kimball

Track & Field: Kate Hall

Track & Field: Nolan Abrams

Special Awards

Rick Worthley Golf Award: Ben Chaine

Sonja Flanigan Award: To the outstanding female athlete, Tiana-Jo Carter. Sonja Flanagin Kenniston was a 1971 LRHS graduate who participated in field hockey, basketball, softball and track. She was never a star, captain or high scorer, but she was always first to practice, last to leave, and always helped with taking care of the equipment. She was always the loudest cheering for all of her teammates. She was a key individual through her leadership skills, bridging the community rivalries into a positive atmosphere. She was the first true “Laker.” After graduation, Sonja returned to Lake Region and did photography for classes and sports teams. Sonja was killed in an automobile accident in the mid 1970s.

Steve Gammon Award: To the outstanding male athlete, Cody Gibbons. Steve Gammon was an exceptional scholar-athlete and a member of the Class of 1972. He was a two-sport athlete, competing in football and basketball. Steve was tragically killed. This award is given in his honor for his dedication and love for the game.

Carol Youker Ski Award — Brendon Harmon.

Carol Youker Ski Award — Brendon Harmon.

Carol Youker Ski Award: Brendon Harmon. Carol Youker was a member of the LRHS Class of 1970. She was a skier with grace, speed, precision, daring, but most of all, had a love for the sport. Carol grew up skiing, experiencing the sport first from a backpack on the back of her father, who was the Bridgton Academy Outing Club director. Once she took her first steps, Carol quickly advanced to skiing on her own. She skied for the Bridgton High School girls’ ski team and was on the first Lake Region H.S. ski team in 1970. Carol was a ski instructor at Pleasant Mountain before attending and graduating from Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Mont., with a degree in outdoor recreation. She returned to New England after graduation and taught skiing in Maine and New Hampshire. Carol died in a car accident in New Hampshire in 1977. This memorial award was established to remember Carol’s skill and love for skiing, but also as much for her happy nature and likeable personality. She was enthusiastic, full of life and fun to be around. The award goes to someone who demonstrates all of these qualities.

Varsity Club President’s Award: Miranda Chadbourne, president; Lucy Fowler, Tiana-Jo Carter and Sarah Hancock, vice presidents

LR Boosters’ Sportsmanship Award: Dakota Russo and Casey Heath

Principal’s Award (93 and above average, captain of a team and all-conference selection): Casey Heath, Frances Kimball, Courtney Yates, Lucy Fowler and Jacqueline Laurent.

Coach of the Year: Wayne Rivet, softball

Fall All-Academic

Football: Zach Tidd, Erik Christensen

Soccer: Jacob Hammond

Rick Worthley Memorial Golf Award — Ben Chaine.

Rick Worthley Memorial Golf Award — Ben Chaine.

Volleyball: Amina Meziani, Danielle LaPointe

Soccer: Elizabeth Waugh

Cheering: Frances Kimball, Jacqueline Laurent

Field Hockey: Miranda Chadbourne, Casey Heath, Elizabeth Schreiber, Samantha Marucci, Nicole Marucci, Courtney Yates, Lucy Fowler

Cross-Country: Ben Roy

Winter All-Academic

Cheering: Frances Kimball, Jacqueline Laurent

Alpine Ski: Taylor Cronin, Samantha Marucci, Nicole Marucci

Indoor Track: Casey Heath, Elizabeth Schreiber, Amy Angelone, Ben Roy, Danielle LaPointe

Basketball: Miranda Chadbourne, Lucy Fowler

Spring All-Academic

Softball: Casey Heath, Amy Angelone, Samantha Marucci, Nicole Marucci, Jacqueline Laurent, Kenya Debrule

Tennis: Elizabeth Waugh, Zoey Perham, Giselle Wallace, Frances Kimball, Estelle Lohm

Principal's Award — Courtney Yates.

Principal's Award — Courtney Yates.

Lacrosse: Elizabeth Schreiber, Paige Kennison

Baseball: Nick Dyer

Lacross: Zachary Tidd, Drew Shane

Track & Field: Courtney Yates, Benjamin Roy, Danielle LaPointe

Cords for athletic participation

Single Cords — Successfully completing one sport per year for four years: Arianna Aaskov, Brian Brooks, Tiana-Jo Carter, Kenya DuBrule, Destinee Durant, Sean Edwards, Briana Gallinari, Brendon Harmon, Cameron Harriman, Taylor Kwaak, Tucker Irish, Mackenzie McHatton, Amina Meziani, MacKenzie Mondville, Drew Shane, Brandon Silvia, Meghan Skarbinski, Drew Spaulding, Zach Tidd, Logan Wears and Jordan Turner.

Double Cords — Successfully completing two sports per year for four years: Nolan Abrams, Amy Angelone, Jeremy Black, Miranda Chadbourne, Lucy Fowler, Cody Gibbons, Casey Heath, RJ Legere, Dakota Russo, Sam Smith, Kacie Tripp and Elisabeth Waugh.

Triple Cord — Successfully completing three sports per year for four years: Ben Chaine, Frances Kimball, Danielle LaPointe, Jacqueline Laurent, Nicole Marucci, Samantha Marucci, Ben Roy, Elizabeth Schreiber and Courtney Yates.

Exchange Students receiving cords were: Clara Joehnik, Estelle Lohm, Sara Megaard, Florian Ziegler and Danitza Reveco.

Principal's Award — Lucy Fowler.

Principal's Award — Lucy Fowler.


Principal's Award — Jacqueline Laurent.

Principal's Award — Jacqueline Laurent.

Principal's Award — Frances Kimball.

Principal's Award — Frances Kimball.

Please follow and like us: