SAD 61 notes: Bus Safety poster contest winners announced


STEVENS BROOK top Bus Safety Poster contest winners were (left to right) Avery Bush, Trevor Bush, Jaycen Massey and Jayden Cote.

Liné Mulcahy is a believer that practice, practice, practice makes perfect, especially when it comes to bus safety.

“Throughout the year, we talk about danger zones and emergency procedures,” said Mulcahy, who is SAD 61’s school bus driver trainer and drives Bus 3 in West Bridgton.

Thanks to some remarkable artwork by elementary school students, those safety messages can be seen throughout 2018.

Mulcahy announced the winners of this year’s Bus Safety Poster Contest during Monday’s school board meeting. SAD 61 winners advance to the state competition. Posters were 11”x17”, and had to include this year’s theme, “My school bus is the safest form of student transportation.” The original winning local entries were sent off to the state, which the finalist will be selected in July.

Meanwhile, copies were made and used as part of a colorful calendar, starting with this month (May) and running through April 2019. Each month also carries a bus safety message. The one for May is “Wait for a signal from the bus driver before crossing.” A secondary message says, “Make the right choice every day to be your best.”

“The drawings are remarkable,” Mulcahy told directors. “It was difficult to pick a Top 12 in the district.”

SEBAGO ELEMENTARY top Bus Safety Poster contest winners were (left to right) Brian Harmon, Zachary Cross and Michael Hawkes Jr. Absent was Kristina Splude.

Winners (pictured above) were presented medals, certificates and copies of the calendar. They also received some kind words from Buster, the district’s mechanical Bus Safety mascot.

In other news,

Immunization changes. Superintendent Al Smith noted that the Maine Department of Health has changed its meningitis immunization requirement. Students in Grade 7 will receive one dose while those in Grade 12 will be required to receive two doses.

Storage space. Lake Region Community Theater has been calling the high school auditorium its performance home, but when the show ends and it is time to put away props and other items, there is no real storage space available.

So, LRCT posed an idea to SAD 61. Maybe, the vocational center’s construction students could build a storage building.

At a Facilities Committee meeting, Superintendent Smith reported that a portable classroom would be moved from the middle school to the Essential Services Building site this summer.  It was discussed that if LRCT would help with the costs of moving the portable, they would be able to use it until a permanent space was determined at the high school.  Janet Ver Planck presented the idea to the LRCT board of directors, who agreed to pay $2,200 to move the portable.

SONGO LOCKS top Bus Safety Poster contest winners were (left to right) Ava Lynn Cole, Ava May Johnson and Jayden Jines. Absent was Ruby Sanborn. (Rivet Photos)

Bridgton Memorial School property. The wheels on the future of the former Bridgton elementary school continue to turn ever so slowly.

Andy Madura, director of Maintenance, Transportation and Food Service, presented a draft map of plot plans for BMS and reviewed the history with the Facilities Committee, as well as highlighted the right-of-way needed if and when the property/BMS building was given back to the Town of Bridgton.

There was a discussion on the proposed use and timelines. It is planned to generate a plot plan that also shows the property lines. Superintendent Smith reported there has not been any formal discussion with the town recently. Greg Watkins, chairman of the Bridgton Board of Selectmen, had met with Madura prior to the meeting and reviewed the same information.

Personnel. Erin Bates-Letourneau has been approved as Assistant Special Education Director for the 2018–19 school year. This is a new position ($83,000). She was previously the director of student support services in Dubai (the largest and most populous city in the United Arab Emirates).

She holds a bachelor’s of arts in communication and minor in public relations from the University of Maine at Orono, a master’s of arts in special education from the University of South Florida, and a sixth-year degree in administration-educational leadership.

There were five applicants, and three were interviewed.

Sandra Hamblin was approved as a long-term substitute at Lake Region Middle School, replacing Rachel Hall, who is on maternity leave.

Resignations: Paula Miller as an Ed Tech, Lake Region Middle School; Ellen Berry, school counselor at Songo Locks School: Tom Letourneau, teacher at Stevens Brook Elementary School effective end of 2017–18 school year; Roberta Polland, Resource Room teacher at Stevens Brook Elementary School effective end of 2017–18 school year; Danielle Woodbury, Day Treatment support technician at Songo Locks School; Lisa Warren, Special Education Secretary.

Grants. Directors accepted the following grants:

  • Fresh Fruit & Vegetable Grant – Songo Locks School, $11,525.
  • Hannaford Helps Schools – Lake Region High School $1,029.
  • Hannaford Helps Schools – Lake Region Middle School $579.
  • Donation of $1,000 from Maine Family Camping, Inc., owners Dan and Liz Craffey, to Songo Locks School to help pay for transportation of all fourth grade students to the Maine State Museum in Augusta.
Please follow and like us: