Raider fall athletic awards announced

HEADMASTER’S AWARD to Silas Eastman (cross-country running) and Christina DiPietro (field hockey).

FRYEBURG — Raider athletes to be recognized at the fall sports night held at the Wadsworth Arena at Fryeburg Academy were:

Western Maine Conference Player of the Year in Softball: Carla Tripp.

Raider Awards

Boys’ Cross Country: Logan Gerchman, senior.

Girls’ Cross Country: Elizabeth Grzyb, sophomore.

Mountain Biking: Evan Armington, junior.

Field Hockey: Ellen Bacchiocchi, senior.

Girls’ Soccer: Carla Tripp, senior.

Football: Kyle Bonner, senior.

Cheering: Ashanah Tripp, senior.

Boys’ Soccer: Paul Dostie, senior.

Golf: Van L. Nguyen, senior.

THREE STAR JACKETS RECIPIENTS — (Left to right) Alexis Guzman, Kallie Moulton, Samantha Sgrio, Billy Rascoe, Laura Lewis, Kylie Locke, Elle Burbank, Will Price, Zach Sheehan, Christian DeMiranda, Emily Davidson and Joe Schrader.

All Conference

• Selected by the coaches from the league based on performance or placement in the league championships.

Ellen Bacchiocchi, first team, field hockey.

Kyle Bonner, Campbell Conference, football

Sulo Burbank, Campbell Conference, football, honorable mention.

Sydney Charles, honorable mention, girls’ soccer.

Christina DiPietro, first team, field hockey.

Devine Dockery, Campbell Conference, football.

Paul Dostie, honorable mention, boys’ soccer.

Liz Dyer, golf.

Silas Eastman, first team, cross-country.

RAIDER AWARD WINNERS (left to right) Emily Ouellette, Trevor Henschel, Paul Dostie, Silas Eastman. Jake Thurston, Kendra Fox, Christina DiPietro, Ellen Bacchiocchi, Hannah Perry and Kyle Bonner.

Ariel Fogden, second team, cross-country.

Kendra Fox, honorable mention, field hockey.

Makayla Frost, second team, field hockey.

Logan Gerchman, second team, cross-country.

Liz Grzyb, second team, cross-country.

Michael LeGoff, honorable mention, boys’ soccer.

Tyler LeGoff, honorable mention, boys’ soccer.

Nicolis Mauer, second team, boys’ soccer.

“Big” Van Nguyen, golf.

“Little” Van Nguyen: golf.

Maddie Pearson, girls’ soccer.

Andrew Rascoe, honorable mention, Campbell Conference, football.

Carla Tripp, girls’ soccer.

All Academic 

• Seniors who have an accumulated grade point average of 3.2 and earned a varsity letter this season

Bright Amoako, football.

Sasha Azel, soccer.

Ellen Bacchiocchi, field hockey.

Kyle Barboza, cross-country.

Christina DiPietro, field hockey.

Silas Eastman, cross-country.

Kendra Fox, field hockey.

Shannon Friberg, girls’ soccer.

Logan Gerchman, cross-country.

Jamie Gullikson, girls’ soccer.

Kiley Jolicoeur, cross-country.

Haley Kollander, cheering.

Topi  Laasko, boys’ soccer.

Laura Lewis, field hockey.

Alicia McDonald, field hockey.

Kallie Moulton, girls’ soccer.

Van L. Nguyen, golf.

Alec Perry-Boys soccer

Emily Powers, cross-country.

Josh Rounds, boys’ soccer.

Tyler Saunders, boys’ soccer.

Sammy Sgroi, field hockey.

Ian Shea, boys’ soccer.

Ashanah Tripp, cheering.

Kyle Barboza, cross-country.

Special Honors

Lake Region Invitational first place finish: Boys’ Cross Country Team.

Pleasant Mountain Bowl: Kyle Bonner and Ian MacFawn, captains.

Linda Whitney Award: Outstanding Player in the Western Maine Conference as voted on by the league coaches to Christina DiPietro.

All State Golf Team and can participate in the New Englands: Van L. Nguyen.

Class B State XC meet All State honors: Silas Eastman.

Maine Field Hockey Coaches Association All State team, and will be honored at an awards night in December and represent Fryeburg Academy in game in July are: Ellen Bacchiocchi and Christina DiPietro.

Selected to cheer at the Maine Shriners Lobster Bowl in August: Alexis Guzman.

Western Maine Conference Champions in the Small School Division: Boys’ Cross Country Team.

Class B Sportsmanship Banner: Boys’ Soccer.

Fall 3 Star Jackets

Evan Armington, Elle Burbank, Emily Davidson, Christian DeMiranda, Danea Dostie, Alexis Guzman, Laura Lewis, Kylie Locke, Andrew Lyman, Kallie Moulton, Will Price, Billy Rascoe, TJ Rose, Josh Rounds, Samantha Sgroi. Joe Schrader, Zach Sheehan and Liuke Yang.

Fall Headmaster’s Award

Through the selection process, Mr. Lee was unable to decide between two individuals and decided to present two awards.

The first goes to a young woman who has worked for her accomplishments more than the average athlete. She is provided support in the classroom to meet her specific needs, but in the athletic arena, she has had to do everything on her own. She is a 12-sport athlete in field hockey, alpine skiing and track and field. She has maintained a 4.1 GPA through the past three years.  She has been a captain, received numerous Raider awards, been named an All Conference athlete, and an All State athlete.

To watch her compete, you would notice the standout athlete, but never realize she has to overcome any hurdles.  When you meet her, you can’t help but be overwhelmed with her compassion toward others and her positive energy.

The 2012 Fall Headmasters Award goes to Christina DiPietro.

The next award goes to a young man who has a passion for endurance, in any event. He is a 12-sport athlete in cross country, Nordic skiing and track and field. He has been a captain several times, received numerous Raider Awards, been a WMC champion for three years and a Regional champion three years, has won two cross-country state titles, been named Maine’s High School Runner of the Year, named to the All New England team, and been an All State runner for all four years.

His accolades in Nordic skiing mirror those of his cross-country career.

In addition to all his athletic awards, you may have noticed he was also a member of the All Academic team with a 3.95 GPA. Coach Reilly says, “He is a one every 30 years type of a runner!”

The 2012 Fall Headmasters Award goes to Silas Eastman.

Fall Plaques

Golf: MVP to Van L. Nguyen; Top Newcomer Award to Trevor Henschel.

Mountain Biking: Most Improved Rider to Lake Phillips.

Boys’ Cross Country: Iron Will Award to Silas Eastman; Spirit of the Sport Award to Patrick Carty.

Girls’ Cross Country: Iron Will Award to Elizabeth Grzyb; Spirit of the Sport Award to Ariel Fogden.

Fall Cheering: Coach’s Award to Hannah Perry and Emily Ouellette.

Football: Raider Award to Kyle Bonner and Jake Thurston.

Boys’ Soccer: Raider Award to Paul Dostie and Tyler LeGoff.

Girls’ Soccer: Most Skilled Award to Carla Tripp; Most Valuable Player to Maddie Pearson.

Field Hockey: Coach’s Award to Ellen Bacchiocchi; Captain’s Award to Kendra Fox.

Please follow and like us: