Lake Region Just Desserts banquet; Varsity Club award winners

Meghan VanLoan and Michael Rust. (Rivet Photos)

Meghan VanLoan and Michael Rust. (Rivet Photos)

Lake Region High School student-athletes were honored last Thursday, June 4, at the annual Just Desserts Athletic Awards.

Varsity Club Awards and special honors presented included:


Boys’ Lacrosse: Ethan Green

Girls’ Lacrosse: Katie Throgmorton

Softball: Ashley Clark

Baseball: Adam Butler

Tennis: Sarah Carlson

Girls’ Track: Kate Hall

Boys’ Track: Kyle DeSouza

All-Academic Selections (grade point average of 93 or above): Nick Ball, Nicole Fox, Michelle Bender, Maggie Scarlett, Madison Wildey, Liza Wildey, Sarah Carlson and Sarah Hancock.


Golf: Tyler Walker

Rick Worthley (Memorial) Golf Award: Sullivan Tidd

Volleyball: Nicole Fox

Girls’ Soccer: Devin Langadas

Boys’ Soccer: Michael Rust

Football: Quinn Piland (he will represent Lake Region in the annual Shriners’ Lobster Bowl game)

Field Hockey: Abby Scott-Mitchell

Cross Country: Audrey Blais, Nick Scarlett


Indoor Track: Nick Scarlett, Kate Hall

Cheerleading: Brittany Perreault

Girls’ Basketball: Sarah Hancock

Boys’ Basketball: Nick Hall

Ice Hockey: Evan Kellough

Alpine Skiing: Taylor Davis


Taylor Davis

Taylor Davis

Carol Youker (Ski) Award: Taylor Davis.

Carol Youker was a member of the LRHS Class of 1970. She was a skier with grace, speed, precision, daring but most of all, had a love for the sport. Carol grew up skiing, experiencing the sport first from a backpack on the back of her father, who was the Bridgton Academy Outing Club director. Once she took her first steps, Carol quickly advanced to skiing on her own. She skied for the Bridgton High School girls’ ski team and was on the first Lake Region H.S. ski team in 1970. Carol was a ski instructor at Pleasant Mountain before attending and graduating from Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Mont., with a degree in outdoor recreation. She returned to New England after graduation and taught skiing in Maine and New Hampshire. Carol died in a car accident in New Hampshire in 1977. This memorial award was established to remember Carol’s skill and love for skiing, but also as much for her happy nature and likeable personality. She was enthusiastic, full of life and fun to be around. The award goes to someone who demonstrates all of these qualities.

Sonja Flanagin Kenniston Award to the outstanding female athlete: Kate Hall.

Sonja Flanagin Kenniston was a 1971 LRHS graduate who participated in field hockey, basketball, softball and track. She was never a star, captain or high scorer, but she was always first to practice, last to leave, and always helped taking care of the equipment. She was always the loudest cheering for all of her teammates. She was a key individual through her leadership skills, bridging the community rivalries into a positive atmosphere. She was the first true “Laker.” After graduation, Sonja returned to Lake Region and did photography for classes and sports teams. Sonja was killed in an automobile accident in the mid 1970s.

Kate Hall and Quinn Piland.

Kate Hall and Quinn Piland

Steve Gammon Award to the outstanding male athlete: Quinn Piland.

Steve Gammon was an exceptional scholar-athlete and a member of the Class of 1972. He was a two-sport athlete, competing in football and basketball. Steve was tragically killed. This award is given in his honor for his dedication and love for the game.

Sportsmanship Award given to a student-athlete who has exhibited high moral character, respect for the sport he/she plays, and respect for opponents he/she plays against: Meghan VanLoan and Michael Rust.

Principal’s Award — To senior student-athletes who earn a 90 or above grade point average and were all-conference selections: Nicole Fox, Abby Scott-Mitchell, Meghan VanLoan, Magnus Holm and Sarah Hancock.

Coach of the Year: J.P. Yorkey, boys’ basketball

Abby Scott-Mitchell

Abby Scott-Mitchell


Single Cord — Successfully completed one sport per year for four years: Samantha Bolling, Ashley Clark, Bailey Crawford, Donovan Eaton, Kevin Flanagin, Nicole Fox, Sarah Hancock, Shawn Hanson, Whitney Harriman, Devin Langadas, Bridgette Letarte, Allison Morse, Margaret Scarlett, Emily Secord, Alizah Thayer, Sullivan Tidd, Elizabeth Wildey and Kolin Wyman.

Double Cord — Successfully completing two sports per year for four years: Nick Ball, Adam Butler, Sarah Carlson, Kyle DeSouza, Ethan Green, Kate Hall, Ron Hall, Quinn Piland, Michael Rust, Abby Scott-Mitchell, Isabel Scribner and Madison Wildey.

Triple Cord — Successfully completing three sports per year for four years: Evan Kellough, Brittany Perreault, Meghan VanLoan and Nicholas Hall.

Varsity Club Officers: Sarah Hancock, president; vice presidents Sarah Carlson, Devynn Turner and Brittany Perreault.

Sarah Hancock

Sarah Hancock

Closing Comments — Principal Ted Finn pointed out that 2014-15 was an outstanding year in Lake Region sports as the school hung three Sportsmanship Banners (football, boys' soccer and girls' track), and 14 of 19 teams qualified for the playoffs.

Magnus Holm

Magnus Holm

Nicole Fox

Nicole Fox

Please follow and like us: